Tags

, ,

Film_443w_Ronde_original

I know I’m supposed to like Max Ophuls. And I like love stories. And I like French love stories that are less sexually prudish than American love stories of the same period. Or today for that matter. And I like the idea that everyone is connected in love. No one is faithful, everyone is wandering. And I don’t have any real problem with a master of ceremonies figure guiding the viewer through the proceedings (with a carousel nonetheless!). But then I’ve never been into Ophuls. Maybe there’s too much artifice in his films for me, but while I respect them, they always leave me feeling a little cold. Which feels odd for a director so focused on love. But there you have it. This sounds super negative and it actually isn’t, but compared to the hype around this as one of the great films of all time, I don’t really get it.

7/10

